My Kimora Lee “FABULOSITY” experience

What started out as an opportunity to meet and hear the famous model, mogul, mother, Kimora Lee Simmons, speak about “how to build a successful empire” turned into a pivotal moment in LBV Designs history. Less than three weeks after my company’s soft launch at the The Wedding Salon luxury bridal show, I had my first celebrity using LBV cake jewelry.  I had no idea when I woke up that morning that by 7p that evening I would be standing face to face with Kimora Lee Simmons.

When I arrived to the event where Kimora was set to speak, I had no idea that her personality would be so magnetic and amiable. I mean after seeing her on tv I could only imagine how much a DIVA she would be to witness in person. However, she had me laughing and nodding my head to her “down to earth” witty comments. But let’s be clear, she is definitely a FAB DIVA! Yet, I found her personality something that I could relate to…sort of like she was a good girlfriend of mine who I could chat with over the phone.

After the event, I decided to formally introduce myself to Kimora. I was a SUCH a nervous WRECK! I was TREMBLING IN MY (tortoise peep toe) WEDGES but I managed to navigate the crowd that had formed around her until I was finally standing face to face with Kimora Lee Simmons.

There I was, nervous and stumbling over simple words because I was rushing to get the right words out before I lost her attention. She smiled and replied by giving me her assistant’s contact and suggested that I reach out to her to continue the conversation since she would be the person communicating with Kimora from LA. From that point I followed up with the contacts that I was given and on May 12. 2010 Kimora was using my custom cake jewelry to celebrate her bday in Los Angeles.

Later that day, I received a phone call from Kimora’s assistant asking for my twitter handle (@LBVDESIGNS for those of you that were wondering and wanted to start following me 🙂 ). Strange question I thought to myself, but then shortly after I received a mention from Mrs. Fabulosity herself telling me how much she really enjoyed her cake jewelry.

At that point, I knew that if my work was validated by the queen of opulent accessories and glamour via twitter then LBV Designs was off to a good start.

This entry was posted in Celebrity, Custom Projects and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment